SBCKiteboard.COM Twitter SBCKiteboard.COM Facebook

KSP update: Ponta Preta KSP closes in

Dec 1, 2011

Author: KSP

Sal Island, Cape Verde — December 1, 2011: Bringing the KSP’s 2011 Kite Surfing World Championship Tour to a close, the Ponta Preta Kite Surf Pro will kick off tomorrow, Friday December 2 with an online broadcast streamed live at

During the event’s 10-day holding period, running from December 2 to 11, the world’s best kite surfers will come together at one of most mind-blowing kite surfing waves on the planet — Sal Island’s infamous right-hand point break, Ponta Preta.

Competing for the tour stop title at the pinnacle of the World Championships — the third and final leg of the KSP’s “dream tour” — riders will also vie for valuable points that count toward the 2011 Kite Surfing World Championship title. The male and female World Champions will be crowned at the event’s conclusion.

“Going into this final event of the first ever KSP season, everyone is especially excited,” says KSP President Kristin Boese, “not only in anticipation of the action here at Ponta Preta, but also to see who is actually going to take the world championship title.”

After the first two KSP stops in Mauritius and Peru, current standings put Airton Cozzolino (Italy/North), Mitu Monteiro (Cape Verde/F-One) and Guilly Brandao (Brazil) in first, second and third, respectively, while Ines Correia (Portugal), Marie Gautron (France/Naish), and Kristin Boese (Germany/Best) lead the women’s pack. (Visit for the full list of standings.)

Led by Head Judge Brad Price (HI), the team of IKA-accredited judges includes Carla Twelkemeyer (GER), Caro Duby (FRA), Felix Pivec (AUS), Lex Donse (NED) and Jerome Boggio-Pasqua (CBV). Competitors will be scored on a scale of .1 to 10 for each wave ridden, with a heat score that combines the best two waves for a maximum of 20 points total.

Designed to give undiscovered talent a chance to compete with kite surfing’s elite, Local Wild Cards for the KSP’s Ponta Preta Kite Surf Pro were awarded through a local competition. Jose Djo Silva and Matchu Almeida won the male Cape Verde wild cards while Diamira Lopez will be representing her country on  the women’s side.

The women’s lineup will include:

Adriana Harlan (HAW), Diamira Lopez (CBV) LWC, Ines Correia (POR), Kirsty Jones (GBR/North), Kristin Boese (GER/Best), Maayke Tadema (NED/Best), Marie Gautron (FRA/Naish), Melissa Gil (USA), Ninja Bichler, (MAU/North), Odile Cavin (FRA), Suzanne Kuiper (NED/F-One), Tomoko Okazaki (JPN)

The men’s lineup will include:

Airton Cozzolino (ITA/North), Bastien Bollard (FRA/Underground), Bear Karry (USA), Bruno Bordovsky (BRA), Cameron Dietrich (USA), Diego Anta (SPN), Etienne Lhote (FRA/F-One), Gonzalo Ribba (CHI/Best), Guilly Brandao (BRA), Ian Glaza (BRA), Jeremie Eloy (FRA/North), Jesse Richman (HAW/Naish), Jose Djo Silva (CBV/F-One) LWC, Juan Pablo Diban (CHI), Lee Harvey (GBR/North), Luis Brito (CBV/North), Matchu Almeida (CBV/North) LWC, Mauricio Pedreira (BRA), Mitu Monteiro (CBV/F-One), Nuno Figueiredo (POR/Best), Patri McLaughlin (HAW/North), Paulino Pereira (POR), Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA), Sky Solbach (USA/North)

Each day, starting at 9 a.m. local time (if not otherwise announced), the Ponta Preta Kite Surf Pro will be live broadcast online at If you miss any of the action, the heat-by-heat action will be archived for your on-demand viewing pleasure. And don’t miss the daily video updates that will be posted at Follow the KSP World Championship Tour on Facebook at or on Twitter at

The KSP 2011 Ponta Preta Kite Surf Pro is sponsored by Camera Municipal do Sal, Cape Verde Investment Promotion Agency, CVTelecom, Melia Tortuga Beach, Villagi Bravo, Cabocan, TAP Portugal, ASA, APP and Sal Affitti. The KSP World Tour is supported by ION and Vitamizzer.


Editor's Video Picks!





What's Hot!!!


Download Kiteboard Desktop App

Newsletter Signup